Sunday, 20 December 2009

Ain't no sunshine - Joe McGann and Rebecca de Ruvo

'Ain't no sunshine' was originally a hit for Bill Withers in 1971. It was re-recorded by Joe McGann and MTV hot babe Rebecca de Ruvo with a studio group called Bi Virtue. This 12" single was released in 1992.

This is one of those releases that sinks without a trace, fails to chart anywhere, and ends up in the sales bin all over Europe. I didn't know this version, but was curious enough about Rebecca de Ruvo's singing qualities to try it out. Hearing this now, it really sounds like an early Nineties production.

My collection: 12" single no. 522
Found: Plaatboef, Den Haag, 2000
Cost: 2,5 guilders
Tracks: 'Ain't no sunshine (radio mix)', 'Ain't no sunshine (Phill Chill mix)' / 'Why can't we just be friends (radio mix)', 'Ain't no sunshine (Up front mix)'

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...